MMU2.png

After reviewing ten versions of the exact same story, I wanted to do something with a little more variety. At first, time travel movies seem like a limited genre, but just look at the list above. We’ve got romance (Somewhere in Time), a classic action film (The Terminator), a psychological thriller (12 Monkeys), pure science fiction (Primer), a high school movie (Back to the Future) and everything in between. While we’re at it, I know three of these films have popular sequels, but I’ll only be taking a look at the original product. Sure, there are two versions of The Time Machine, but they are drastically different films.

I’ll be grading a bit differently for this match-up, seeing as how it is more of a general topic:

Story: 30 Points

Cast: 30 Points

Experience: 25 Points

Originality: 15 Points

time machine

I thought it would be only appropriate if we began the Movie Match-Up of time travel movies with an adaptation… (More)

tat

After ten versions of A Christmas CarolAnd Then  There Were None, and last week’s The Time Machine, I am finally writing… (More)

sit

Well, it’s finally time to talk about the longest episode of The Twilight Zone ever. No, you haven’t clicked on the wrong review… (More)

Terminator1984movieposter

Of all the time travel films in this Movie Match-Up, The Terminator is the one least associated with the genre. The conflict of the film… (More)

Back_to_the_Future

Even if you’ve never seen Back to the Future, there’s a very high chance you’ve seen if referenced, homaged, or parodied in pop culture… (More)

bill

I need to make an apology. I really should have swapped this one out for Time Bandits. I left Time Bandits out… (More)

monkeys

Unlike every other entry in this Match-Up, there is a possibility that 12 Monkeys is not a time travel movie at all… (More)

time machine

Sure, George Pal’s 1960 The Time Machine is a lot of fun, but it isn’t a classic in the sense that another… (More)

primer

Primer is one of those movies where the director, screenwriter, producer, and lead actor are all the same person… (More)

looper

See if this sounds familiar. Bruce Willis goes back in time to prevent a disaster from happening… (More)

FINAL THOUGHTS

HOME

4 thoughts on “Introduction: Time Travel Movies

  1. I have to Agree “Back to the Future” is the best Time travel Movie, Terminator & 12 Monkeys are good, You missed one of my Guilty Movies..”TimeLine & Time Cop”..
    @Tombstone4everr

    Like

    1. Yeah, Timeline I have not actually seen, but seeing how it’s Richard Donner, I’m sure it’s worth a watch. I was trying to cover as many genres as I could within the general scope of time travel films. Thanks so much for reading!

      Like

    1. I left off Donnie Darko, because simply calling it a time travel movie would spoil it for those who haven’t seen it. I do like it, though, and mentioned it on one of my Top 7 lists.

      Like

Leave a Reply

