Instead of comparing ten films this time around, I want to mix it up by comparing adaptations. Sure, books can expand on characters and story arcs, but movies can tell a story visually and through incredible performances.

I’m going to be comparing the novels and adaptations of C.S. Lewis’ The Chronicles of Narnia. Of course I’ll look at the Disney/Walden Media films, but I’ll also be looking at the BBC miniseries from the ’80s and ’90s, as well as the lesser-known cartoon version of The Lion, The Witch, and the Wardrobe.

I want to break down what changed from the book to the movies, but also which version has the better characters, story, and overall experience. There will be a lot to breakdown, so I’m going to take multiple weeks on each book (with the exception of The Silver Chair of which there is only one adaptation.)

It’s something a little different, and I’m really looking forward to it. I’ll start with part 1 of The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe a week from today.

The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe

PART 1

PART 2

PART 3

HOME

Leave a Reply

